Fantasy, Fiction, romance

Court of Midnight and Deception trilogy by K.M Shea

Themes: Urban fantasy, romance

The synopsis

The fae of the Night Court are desperate to find and crown their new monarch before the Court collapses.

I couldn’t care less.

I’ve done everything I can to bury my fae blood and embrace my human half. That changes when some fae nobles show up on my doorstep and announce that I’m the next Queen of the Night Court.

Becoming an unwilling fae queen? Check. Inheriting a terrible mess? Double check.

The Court is almost bankrupt, my citizens’ favorite hobby is backstabbing one another, and I don’t know who I can trust since someone keeps trying to assassinate me.

Speaking of assassins, I get introduced to the best in the business—a fae lord nicknamed the Wraith. His deadly profession means he fears No. One.

The only reason he doesn’t kill me on the spot is he’s a member of the Night Court and the Court’s magic protects me. But that doesn’t prevent him from trading verbal barbs with me whenever we meet.

And if cat herding uncooperative fae while chatting with assassins wasn’t enough, I’m required to get married as part of some archaic Court law. This “queen” gig is the worst!

Supposedly I can choose anyone to marry, but with all the infighting I need someone who is unaffiliated and won’t cause political power struggles.

So, why do I keep thinking of a certain assassin?

Court of Midnight and Deception is a completed urban fantasy trilogy that takes place in the Magiford Supernatural City universe. It features fae, werewolves, vampires, and wizards!

This trilogy is packed with humor, adventure, and a sweet, slow burn romance between a reluctant fae queen and the assassin who tried to kill her.

This bundle includes all three books in the series: Crown of Shadows, Crown of Moonlight, and the Queen’s Crown.

The review

I recently read K.M. Shea’s latest trilogy in the Magicford world and it gave me the need to reread my favourite books by her Court of Midnight and Deception.

I think it must be the third time I’m re-reading this trilogy, but I just love Leila (the heroine) so much! I love her human aspect and how she’s using her differences, humour, and cunning to first rile up her court and afterwards to defend it and bring it happiness. For those who like a love interest who’s grumpy, secretive, deadly and the opposite of the heroine, Rigel is perfect for you. Just be aware that Shea’s romances are always clean and veryyyy slow burn 😉

In addition to a great plot and writing which is sooo easy to read, this trilogy is giving you a great atmosphere, with the different fae courts, and secondary characters who are easy to like and form attachment to.

In brief: Some authors deserve more recognition and I strongly believe K.M. Shea is one of them. Her books always bring me so much joy and make me smile while being so easy and quick. Re-reading the trilogy and seeing Hazel and Killian appearing in them just makes me want to read again their story!

My rating: 5/5

Leave a comment