Contemporary Fiction, romance

Twisted Lies by Ana Huang

Themes: romance, adult, contemporary

The Synopsis

He’ll do anything to have her…including lie.

Charming, deadly, and smart enough to hide it, Christian Harper is a monster dressed in the perfectly tailored suits of a gentleman.

He has little use for morals and even less use for love, but he can’t deny the strange pull he feels toward the woman living just one floor below him.

She’s the object of his darkest desires, the only puzzle he can’t solve. And when the opportunity to get closer to her arises, he breaks his own rules to offer her a deal she can’t refuse.

Every monster has their weakness. She’s his.

His obsession.
His addiction.
His only exception.

**

Sweet, shy, and introverted despite her social media fame, Stella Alonso is a romantic who keeps her heart in a cage.

Between her two jobs, she has little time or desire for a relationship.

But when a threat from her past drives her into the arms—and house—of the most dangerous man she’s ever met, she’s tempted to let herself feel something for the first time in a long time.

Because despite Christian’s cold nature, he makes her feel everything when she’s with him.

Passionate.
Protected.
Truly wanted.

Theirs is a love twisted with secrets and tainted by lies…and when the truths are finally revealed, they could shatter everything.

Twisted Lies is a steamy, medium to slow burn fake dating romance. It is the fourth and final book in the Twisted series but can be read as a standalone.

WARNING: Contains a morally gray male MC, explicit content, violence, profanity, and topics that may be sensitive to some readers. Please see inside the book for a detailed list. Recommended for 18+

The review

I’ve been wanting to read this one for so long and I’m so excited to talk about it today!

It was another surprisingly long contemporary romance but it was the perfect choice to relax after the stressful reading of Divine Rivals.

I loved that Christian is indeed morally grey and that for once the ‘he’ll kill for her’ is to be taken in its literal sense. Never in real life but in a book, I’m not saying no to this type of character when they’re well executed.

Stella on the other hand is the nice person in this relationship, sometimes a bit too much. She was so kind that it was easy to care for her as a character and I liked how her anxiety was written. That’s funny she was also characterised by this anxiety because I have a feeling I’ve been reading a lot of books recently where at least one of the main characters is affected by this. I’m not complaining, especially when this aspect is well written and represents something lots of people (including myself) are experiencing and which is often overlooked in real life.

Anyway, I loved the banter and dynamic between Christian and Stella which allowed me to remain gripped by the story til the end. And I’m underlining that because I can get bored very quickly with contemporary romance so it’s always a nice surprise when one manages to prevent me from skimming or spoiling the book myself. I think one of the factors which contributed to this success is that the relationship is evolving quite slowly and the main characters are not giving into their mutual attraction in chapter 3 already. Perhaps I should try to find a lengthier romance since it’s what is allowing this slow development.

In brief: I loved this romance so much that I am now planning to read the next books in the series, which was absolutely not my intent when I bought this book. It also means that not only the plot and the main characters were well written but all the secondary ones too, since I liked them enough to want to discover their stories. The housewarming scene made me laugh so much that it sealed the deal for me 😉

My rating: 4.5/5

Leave a comment